Posted by: dougandem | September 2, 2012

6 days

The final week of training and then right onto Madison.

6 days a week for 9 months. I will miss it. But, I feel ready and confident that I will do well. I am excited and look forward to this weekend.

Most mornings I woke around 4:30 and was out the door by 5. I have seen numerous sunrises while in the pool, on the road or while running in the park.

I have swam in extremely cold and extremely warm water.

I have seen multiple deer (and prayed they would not run right into the bike), turkeys, skunks, raccoons, opossums, one hawk with a squirrel, muskrats (one squirming by the side of the road after being clipped by a car), squirted many dogs with my water bottle and yelled at many dogs.

I have changed 9 flat tires, predominantly the front tire, replaced the wheels and the handlebar tape. I have crashed twice. I have been yelled at, honked at, flipped off and one guy even called me an a-hole. On long rides I usually stopped for a Coke and a PayDay candy bar after 80 miles.

It has been an extremely hot summer and I have sweated more than I ever have before in my life. I have chafed in places I didn’t know could chafe. I have thrown up twice and have learned the benefit of GU energy gel.

Overall, it has been great and I am probably in the best shape I have ever been.

Probably the hardest part of all this training has been the time away from family. One Saturday, after my bike ride, I was lacing my shoes to go out for a run and Claire decided that she was going to join me. She grabbed her shoes and walked out the door. I unfortunately had to direct her back inside and promised to run with her when I returned home. She was heartbroken. But, we made it and we made it together.

After the training, this is my goal for Ironman Wisconsin 2012:

Swim: 1 hour 10 min

Bike: 6 hours

Run: 3 hours 42 min

My goal is to finish under 11 hours. A lofty goal is some aspects but attainable nonetheless.

If you would like to track me that day and cheer for me at home: Go to MyAthleteLive.com on Sept. 9th. Click on Track your athlete. It will list the live events for that day. Click on Ironman Wisconsin and then enter my name.

It would be awesome to have your support!!

On to Madison!

– Doug

Responses

  1. Doug,

    Your dedication is inspiring! Also, points to Em for all of the support. I will be watching on race day. Good luck!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

